Angled / offset ball joints?

npalmi88

So, I brought my TJ to get an alignment a while back and while they were doing that they brought up the fact that I need to get an adjustable rear track bar to get the thrust angle right, fine, I had already planned on doing that. (Didn't let them, it's on the list)

Then they said in order to get the lift I have correctly aligned (4" old man emu springs and 1" body lift) they needed to add some drop brackets to my front lower control arms (I'm going to be installing a RuffStuff long arm kit, so I declined)

And in order to get it all REALLY right they needed to install ball joints with "the proper angle to them" and I "can't just use ANY ball joints with my - 4 INCH LIFT"......

Now, I'm no master mechanic and I don't know a super duper amount, but I have NEVER heard of such a thing. Is this a thing? And I cant understand how simply lifting my TJ would change the independent angle of my ball joints in the first place.

Was I being bullshitted or is this actually a thing? Thanks for any input.

It is a thing - but not needed whatsoever. Offset ball joints are mostly a gimmick or solution to an issue 99% don’t encounter.
Not a gimmick in the least. It is a solution everyone who snivels about not enough caster affecting return to center should avail themselves of. 1.5 degree lower all the way forward, 1.5 degree upper all the way back, BAM, 3 more degrees of caster.

Not a gimmick in the least. It is a solution everyone who snivels about not enough caster affecting return to center should avail themselves of. 1.5 degree lower all the way forward, 1.5 degree upper all the way back, BAM, 3 more degrees of caster.
Ah. Learn something new every day. Who makes the best ones?

I think what they were actually telling you is to never take your Jeep, or any other car, there to be worked on. Even if you know exactly what is needed, they may still not do it right.

I should have mentioned what I said was due to this: