Another "jeep dies while driving" thread

Lat22

My 2004 automatic transmission TJ started dying/stalling at random times while driving down the road. I've been reading threads on what might cause this and have lots of things to troubleshoot when I get a chance (clean grounds, camshaft position sensor, fuel pressure, etc). Something different with mine is that it will restart immediately. I just put it in neutral and restart while I'm still rolling. In most of the other threads I've read, people have trouble restarting. No CEL, codes or anything else like that.

This all seemed to start after my subwoofer amp shorted out two weeks ago. I don't know why or how it happened, but it fried it. I removed the amp and put wire nuts over the ends of the power cables. Is there any way this could be contributing to my problem (grounding)? I'm not very good with electrical issues. Any and all help and advice appreciated! Thanks.

ask a radio shop around town, if they have seen that problem. put a new subwoofer in an see if it fixes it. aint no fun without a sub woofer. maybe when the subburnt, it send a arc back an toasted something else.

That's a an interesting comment cambolt.
I would check loose power cable and every module that is connected to the circuit in between the battery and the starter including loose grounding. Google the schematic diagram from your year model as your guide and trace the line meticulously.
If not from the circuit, then go for the CPS (it's pain in the neck to reach that little sensor :( )

Last edited:
Reactions: weldedcambolt
I think one of the first things you need to do is check your fuel pressure with a gauge. Without a gauge your not able to tell much, so loan one from an auto shop that has that program or just buy one.

How many miles on it btw?