Anyone work in tech?

kameronkales

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
I work in tech writing code. Got into working on cars 7-8ish months ago, bought LJ and got to work.

Wrenching is very similar to coding to me. Nice to get away from computer desk and use my hands.

Anyone else work in tech/write code?

I'm a software engineer building trading systems for a cryptocurrency exchange, about a decade into the career now. I've done frontends too but mostly settled into the backend side as I never liked how the front end tooling had so much turnover.

Front end was horrible. It’s gotten better recently w introduction of web components api.

I recently worked at large asset manager redoing portion of trading platform. Doing that for crypto sounds way harder.

Retired from a computer support & coding career. I still do a lot of C and Assembly just for fun. I'm thinking about building a small color touchscreen console for the Jeep with a two-way inclinometer, barometric altimeter, thermometer, compass, etc.

Reactions: kameronkales
Retired from electronics/programming/IT. Wrote Assembly language and even raw machine code for over a decade. I even wrote my own text editor in assembly - which I still occasionally use. Did some coding in Pascal, and any amount of spaghetti code in BASIC. Never really got into C - although I've dabbled in it and know enough to be dangerous. I respect C's power, but I don't respect the cryptic syntax which which was created for TTY terminals. C and Pascal both are ALGOL descendant languages, and I'm not really a fan of ALGOL syntax in general - although its pretty much taken over the world. Everything from C and Pascal to ADA, Modula-2, Java, et al have similar syntax - those trailing semi-colons drive me nuts and outside of passwords, case dependency is NEVER a feature. But there are worse things, like Forth - the ultimate write-only language! OOP came along later, and I've never fully grasped it.