Back Country Living

StG58

TJ Guru
Supporting Member
Has anyone noticed people living in the back country during your travels?

I've been noticing camps in the back country for several years now. Probably at least since 2005 or so. The camps don't look like the usual gone camping camps. They look like folks are living on Forest Service or BLM land long term. Way more "stuff' set up than a person would need for even a couple of weeks in the backcountry. Things like water systems, shower and washing facilities, awnings, lots of fire wood stacked up and such. Now some of that could be people working on reforestation crews and such. Makes me wonder sometimes what the story is. Saw one guy on a bicycle over the course of several years in the same general area. Never saw his camp, but he was always around. He never would stop to chat either, and that's kind of a custom up here.

I'm curious if anyone else has seen the same thing in their area.

Has anyone noticed people living in the back country during your travels?

I've been noticing camps in the back country for several years now. Probably at least since 2005 or so. The camps don't look like the usual gone camping camps. They look like folks are living on Forest Service or BLM land long term. Way more "stuff' set up than a person would need for even a couple of weeks in the backcountry. Things like water systems, shower and washing facilities, awnings, lots of fire wood stacked up and such. Now some of that could be people working on reforestation crews and such. Makes me wonder sometimes what the story is. Saw one guy on a bicycle over the course of several years in the same general area. Never saw his camp, but he was always around. He never would stop to chat either, and that's kind of a custom up here.

I'm curious if anyone else has seen the same thing in their area.

You aren't the first person who I've heard this from.

Is this legal to live on that land like they're doing?