Doing a trip to Mississippi

DavidBT

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
My wife and I and her sister and sister-in-law are driving to Mississippi, leaving the first week of October. We will be pulling our travel trailer and the sisters-in-law will be following in their camper van. We will have GMRS radios for comms between us and of course cell phones. This will be a three week trip coming back through Santa Fe, New Mexico, then back home to South East Arizona. I'm looking for help deciding wether I should also use a Cobra hand held CB with a magnetic roof mount for help in case of accidents or bad traffic on the hwy. I was thinking it might come in handy especially since we will be traveling through the south Dallas/Fort Worth area. It's something that I could probably use in my TJR also. I'm an old part time trucker and know the limits of CB, and I really don't want to install a mobile unit in either of my vehicles.

Not much action on the CB these days but it would not hurt to have one. I just did a 2 week road trip. Flew into Wi for a week and spent a week driving to Nashville. Google maps on cell linked through the rental car’s screen worked great. It alerted us to delays and gave reroute info.

That's the thing, I usually have Google maps running when we're doing long trips since I have the 8.4" uconnect in my truck. I think I still have the waze app from my commuting days, so maybe I'll just see how it goes. I know that I would probably never use the CB radio for anything else. Most people into off road these days are switching to GMRS or Ham.

All the benefits of Waze are in Google maps now, and then some with the larger network of Google maps users.

They have different philosophies. Waze has one goal and it’s to get you where you are going as fast as possible.

The police notifications can be very handy.