Dumb Question Time - What is this part?

Barely Krawlified

Supporting Member
Okay, I’m pretty new to vehicle maintenance and I swear I’ve looked but need a lifeline on this one.

What is the part that sits directly in front of the radiator and is bolted to the top of the grille? There is a strip of deteriorating foam padding between it and the radiator support on my TJ. My Jeep has factory A/C.

This one appears to be the original factory installed part (note the Chrysler logo) which is now 20 years old. The Jeep is running well as is its heating and A/C system but this part looks like its seen better days.

Should it be replaced as part of a cooling system overhaul? Is it something that should be replaced by a professional instead of a novice (but motivated to learn) DIYer like me? Should I leave well enough alone and not bother with it?

4AC2390F-BF66-4282-BE45-89AE4E85336C.jpeg

2D6DB28F-1AD6-4A98-92CF-BAFBEA11A817.jpeg

Reactions: sideproject
That’s your AC condenser. I wouldn’t mess with it unless you were having AC problems.

If you’re doing a cooling system, overhaul, you could replace that foam strip while the radiator is out, but it’s probably fine the way it is.

That’s your AC condenser. I wouldn’t mess with it unless you were having AC problems.

If you’re doing a cooling system, overhaul, you could replace that foam strip while the radiator is out, but it’s probably fine the way it is.

Outstanding. At the moment I am not having A/C issues and am perfectly content to leave well enough alone. Also, when the time comes, I’m taking any A/C issue to a shop.

Okay, I’m pretty new to vehicle maintenance and I swear I’ve looked but need a lifeline on this one.

What is the part that sits directly in front of the radiator and is bolted to the top of the grille? There is a strip of deteriorating foam padding between it and the radiator support on my TJ. My Jeep has factory A/C.