Electrical savvy folks—any alternatives to this type of switch?

t00th

TJ Enthusiast
Hey all. I just impulse bought some floods that were posted in another thread ( https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B083K86FBN/?tag=wranglerorg-20 ) because they were discounted down to $16 on amazon with a temp coupon. They got me ... what can I say.

Anyway, I need to buy the harness separately ( https://www.amazon.com/dp/B083K9T3KM/?tag=wranglerorg-20 ), but I don't like this style of switch that's a pod on the end of a "leash" almost. I'd prefer something lower profile that I can mount flush on my dash near or next to my fog switch.

The housing has one button for the floods and one switch for the orange bar light. And one of them is either half or full click. Wondering if there's anything like this, a half-click, that I could just get and wire into the harness after removing the included switch. I'm an absolute novice, but I can handle that.

Screen Shot 2020-08-12 at 11.16.09 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-08-12 at 11.24.49 AM.png

Are you looking to replace the two buttons on their switch with one replacement button/switch? Or do you want to replace their two with two of your own?

looks like it's just two switches in a housing with the power supply and ground already jumpered internally (ground is only necessary to run the indicator lights on the switch).

Any pair of switches will work. You'll just have to run the blue power wire to the common terminal on each switch and then the yellow to the NO on one switch and red to the other. And ground both if you get a switch with an indicator light.

I would probably run that blue wire to the downstream side of the fuses too, right now it's direct to battery and there's nothing to shut it down if the insulation gets damaged and shorts to the chassis. I usually run that wire into the parking light circuit so I can't accidentally turn them on.

Thanks for the replies.