Game on—and other welding tips for newbies

fixmysix

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
So this little gem was a father's day present to myself. I'm about to start a pretty custom build which will include making a lot of hot metal stick to other hot metal. I was inspired by @toximus and his dedication to learning each fabrication component of his build as he went through it. Anybody have any thoughts, tips, tricks, books, websites, etc to help me build this skill? Thanks y'all. And happy Father's day weekend.

20200619_160240.jpg

I self-taught myself Mig welding and got my weekend job to pay for Tig welding school. Between the two and all the reading, youtubing, asking questions I did, the consensus afterwards is practice, practice, practice. Get yourself some scrap and go to town on it running your machine through its paces. You will be 10x more confident when it comes to burning metal on something much more important.

Only other advice.. look around before you pull the trigger. I seem to always have a can of solvent, paint or some other kind of grenade sitting nearby when i'm about to tack something together. Safety!!

Get extra contact tips and at least one extra cup.

I would run .035" wire and 75/25 gas.

Start with recommended settings and practice flat welds first. When you first strike an arc let your puddle build a little before you begin moving in a circular motion. Keep the tip at an angle and push the weld away from you (in lieu of "pulling it"). Next start welding fillets on some scrap (still flat) before you think about welding a vertical or overhead weld. If you haven't already, get an auto-darkening helmet.

Mig (GMAW) is a lot easier to learn (IMO) than stick (SMAW) or tig (GTAW).

How much was that ? I need to start learning to weld as well.