Gauge cluster doesn't work ever since replacing heater core

Kinardg7

So I swapped my engine a bout 2 years ago now. When I had the jeep in the shop, I replaced my heater core. Ever since I took the dash out, none of my gauges work. Ive already downloaded the FSM and traced all of the ground points, double checked all connectors behind the dash, and checked all the fuses in the jeep. Ive tried the "Twist the pins" trick, but to no avail. If anyone has any idea of how to help me stop running out of gas, please let me know! I am an electrical technician who works on vehicle wiring every day. Ive just had it with this jeep and I need some help from fellow jeepers!

Well clearly this would point to one of those cases where if things worked before you removed the dash and replaced the heater core, you caused something in the process that stopped the gauges from working.

If I had to guess, there is either something you forgot to plug back in, or you damaged a wire in the process.

You might not want to hear this, but it may be time to consider taking the dash off again. Then you can make sure everything is plugged in, and get the gauge cluster working before putting the dash back on.

That's what I would do.

How would I know if I have a bad cluster? Ive taken it apart before and noticed the odometer has some black spot in the corner. Wondering if that could have been a short, and id like to test the instrument cluster.