Guidance for a new guy

Derecu146

I’m new to Wranglers and my first time in a forum, too. But here goes...

I bought a 2002 TJ Sport with a lift already done. Always wanted a Jeep and love it, but...It rides fine, up to about 50 mph when it starts vibrating. I do not know what was done in the lift, but it appears to have about a 4” lift based on comparison to other’s photos, and 33” BF Goodrich A/T. On examination and reading many comments I would guess the lift was not a very good quality. The lower control arms appear to have been changed, but are not adjustable. Neither are the track bars. The transfer case has been dropped, but transfer case and drive shaft appear standard (not a Rubicon).

I live in Costa Rica, and roads are frequently quite bad, so want to make my TJ suitable as my daily drive, as well as being capable to handle the punishment of frequent bad roads, as well as trips into the unknown.
I love the height and look right now, but want a good ride no vibration, capability to explore and reliability.

a) I have considered ripping out the lift and replacing it with OME 2.5” plus a 1” body lift. I would be hoping with this I could avoid putting SYE and double cardan driveshaft.

b) But am also tempted by the Currie 4” kit, plus I assume the SYE/driveshaft change.

c) Or should I leave what I have and change to adjustable control arms and SYE?

I also have to fix the syncro on second gear and the speedo is about 25% too low (at about 40mph, it reads 30ish).

Any guidance or comments would be greatly appreciated.
Many thanks

I think it all depends on how much money you want to spend.

If it was mine, I would put a Currie or Savvy 4" lift in there complete with adjustable control arms all around. I'd pair that with some Rancho RS5000X shocks, some 33 inch C rated tires (with 26 psi in them), and you'd have the best ride you can get out of a TJ. You'd also need the SYE and DC driveshaft as well.