Ham Radio Antenna Location

P_D

I’m installing a 2m/70cm set up in my TJ with a soft top.

I know this has been covered, and I have read through tons of posts about this subject. There isn’t much consensus on NGP vs ground-plane or the effectiveness of antennas on the bumper etc. I have noticed that there seem to be two types of people who weigh in on these questions: Hams who drive Jeeps, or Jeep guys with their ham license. I’m not sure which category I fall into yet. I hold a General, but I’ve only been a Ham since May. And I am just getting started with trail riding

Here is what I’m trying to accomplish:

I’d like an antenna that will help me hit repeaters in areas where I go off-roading, and maybe some simplex comms with people on the trail, but also one won’t get bent in half or peeled off my Jeep by the tree limbs in East Texas. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention I’m cheap and I don’t want to drill any extra holes in the body. I am running an HT thru a 30W VHF amplifier. The UHF will pass thru the amp when it’s off, but it will only be 5W so I’m thinking UHF will be more receive than transmit...

One option is a lip mount on the tire carrier swing pictured below. Pros: centered on the vehicle, more of the antenna is above the roof, looks cool. Cons: grounding is an issue (I’m not sure if this is true, but I’ve read statements to that effect), whatever length of antenna is sticking up above the roof is liable to come into contact with tree limbs etc
1594360172818.jpeg

Another option is the tail-light bracket mount. Pros: protected from trees etc, the bracket contacts bare metal, so the ground is good, also looks cool. Cons: body shields antenna reception and transmit.

1594361358003.png