Has anyone ever had Treadwright tires on their Jeeps?

GorillaBiscuit

TJ Enthusiast
Hey guys,
I just found this company in Texas called Treadwright Tires that makes remolded tires. I'm real curious to know if anyone here as ever heard of them, or ever used them on their Jeep. I'm thinking about trying them out, but I definitely want to know more before I spend the money.

Well, I saw two things in that video that makes me want to stay away from these tires. One is when the tech has them on the balance machine it spins up wanting 3.75oz on the inside lip when there is already a half pound of lead there. That tire was obviously having balancing issues, and the whole time the guy is going on and on about how balancing them was not an issue. I was a tech for almost 20 years, I've balanced more tires than I could even begin to count. When tires like that keep spinning up and wanting weight every time, it's not right. Ending up with 5lbs of lead tacked on to your rims is just not a good balance. Lol
Second was when he said he had a bulge in the sidewall, and he said the company told him it was nothing to worry about. Every shop I've ever worked at has always had the same policy, a tire with a bulge in the sidewall needs to be replaced and is not safe.
I know every circumstance is different, and off road tires in general always require more weight than regular passenger tires, so I will keep watching review videos, and do some more digging. This is interesting.
Thanks for posting that.

Reactions: reddvltj and JMT
I wouldn’t bother. My Thailand tires were cheap, I paid right at $100 each shipped for 33x12.50x15’s and I’m really happy with them for the price.

I was apprehensive but I needed tires and wheels when I didn’t have a lot of spare cash (mines a toy but I had just sold my truck and it needed to be a DD for a short period) .

So I bought some Thunderer MT’s and I honestly really like them!!! And they aren’t retreads.

Reactions: Chris