Help buying a TJ

grabeb

TJ Enthusiast
Years ago I had a CJ5, so I'm not a novice to Jeeps by any means, and I bought my oldest daughter an 01 Sport about 3yrs ago. That said I'm not an expert either. I am looking for a TJ just for kind of a 2nd/spare car for myself so I don't have to put the miles on my Yukon XL, which I'm also considering upgrading. Most of my driving is a mile or two or less and I want something more fun to run around in. Need to teach my youngest to drive and I might pass this onto her or buy another one if she falls in love with it and I'm not ready to part with.

I have some questions, I'm hoping for some input:
- I doubt I take it rock crawling or anything, but there is a place nearby off a river where there are some trails and you can go down on the riverbed and play as well. Took the basically stock Sport with Michelin road tires on it down there and through the trails and it did fine, but I didn't get too risky. It now has BFG KO2's on it. Loved them on my CJ. That's probably the extent of my playing, but I wouldn't mind going out there and hitting the trails and the riverbed. There are some pretty built rigs down there, just not sure of the level of built most of it requires.
- Obviously the Rubicon is the upper tier....will I kick myself for not going that route with what I explained? I know they have the dana 44 axle vs 33 and the lockers up front. Is the Sahara above the Sport? I've been seeming to find a good mix of Rubicon and Sports and then some X's, which I believe are lower than the sport.
- I've been trying to stay below about 150k miles, but I see a lot around 200k. Any reason to worry about that...my issue is price seems the same on both. I seem to be in the $10k range no matter what I see in our area.