How do I repair this rust?

KCsTJ

TJ student
Supporting Member
My 97 3speed auto got caught up in a fixed/not fixed cycle with Eagle Transmission.
I'll spare the rant only to say they had my jeep off and on for 2 months this summer and it's got rained on until I was able to cover it but this developed as a result..
20180916_094833.jpg

Do I hand sand the rust off, then apply primer?
I have no experience in rust removal

The easiest way would be to remove it entirely, media blast it (or find someone locally who will), then paint it with something like POR15 or similar, then put it back on. That's what I would do at least.

You could also wire wheel it, but to get the rust underneath, you need to take it off. And if you're going through the trouble to take it off, may as well just have it media blasted IMHO.

Reactions: KCsTJ
You can spray it with Rustoleum Rust Reformer and then give a coating of clear. That rust reformer really works but it needs paint to seal it. It won’t do any good,though, if you don’t cover all sides and get it in the nooks and crannies.

My 97 3speed auto got caught up in a fixed/not fixed cycle with Eagle Transmission.
I'll spare the rant only to say they had my jeep off and on for 2 months this summer and it's got rained on until I was able to cover it but this developed as a result..
View attachment 55556
Do I hand sand the rust off, then apply primer?
I have no experience in rust removal
You could hit it with a rust converter then paint as/if you like.

I personally would remove it, soak it in a bath of either EvapoRust or a home solution w vinegar and salt (forget the ratio, but can be found online) and then prime + paint it. After its mounted, I’d probably lighty hit it w CRC corrosion inhibitor or a light coat of Fluid Film, applied w a rag. Do you have a center console that covers it, or is this completely exposed? Im guessing the latter.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk