I am now a TJ expert (heavy sarcasm)

RedrumRH

WNC Asheville Area
Supporting Member
A buddy of mine just purchased a 99' TJ 4 cylinder, he got it for $1,500 and has spent another $6k on it at a shop. My point, he knows very little about the vehicle from a hands on perspective, he knows how cool it is of course and he loves driving it. He pays his mechanic for anything he needs. He started asking me stuff, and I was pretty shocked how much knowledge I now have after 9 months of tinkering and THIS forum. From HIS perspective I know quite a bit! An expert.... loL!! Still learning, know a little, but I had no idea how much I absorbed from reading lots of posts. Thank You everyone!

Oh yah, I had him take a picture of my forum bumper sticker (get one, your rig will instantly bee cooler:)) and said he must join. Another brother joining soon.

Reactions: StG58
Wait a forum bumper sticker?? I’m not a fan of them in general but I’ll gladly sport one from the forum!

Reactions: RedrumRH
If you hang around, you'll at least pick up the basics pretty quick.

There's a lot of stuff that I still struggle to wrap my head around that the real experts (like Blaine) know far better than I ever will. Being able to design a suspension that really works and performs in all the right ways, that's something that you really have to spend a lot of time (and lots of trial and error) to figure out. Being able to understand bump stop, up-travel, down-travel, roll center, etc., that's all good stuff to know, but it's something that most people don't really ever really get into since they'd rather just bolt-on a lift, expect it to work, and go. I totally understand that mentality as well. Some people just don't have the time to dedicate to fully understanding all the little details.