Leak From Brake Master Cylinder Area

Gilly11277

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Hi all,

Novice here...I had my brake fluid changed late last week, everything was fine - no issues. Yesterday night a buddy & I replaced the front brakes (pads and rotors) along with rear drums (everything except rear brake cylinder). On my way home I noticed no problems with braking, everything seemed fine. About 20 minutes ago after I got home running errands in the family minivan I noticed some fluid on the driveway under the Jeep by the drivers side. I traced the leak back to the brake master cylinder and it looks like there was either a spill from when mechanic changed fluids, or fluid was coming out during my ride home after changing brakes.

Jeep was purchased used with 28,000 miles and is an 05. Everything under the hood looks relatively new and there are no cracks/deterioration on any of the rubber seals or hoses. There is obviously fluid coming out from somewhere, can't really tell where exactly because it was sort of all over the place.

Here is a theory of mine. Could be totally off...

When they changed the brake fluid I'm thinking more went into the reservoir than before because of the extra space in the caliper due to the piston being pushed further out on the factory pads, which were about 60% worn. After installing new pads (and not touching fluid or brake lines), the fluid in the reservoir was closer to the cap because there wasn't enough space in the system to allow it to make it's way into the caliper and get back to the previous levels.

I'm going to keep an eye on it and see if I keep getting leaks. I hope it was just too much fluid in the reservoir and it having no where to go when I was breaking in the pads with harder pedal movement. I really have no idea how these systems work but it seems to be the most logical conclusion if the system is under pressure and it went the path of least resistance.

Thoughts? I'm ready for a school lesson.

*edit*