Let's talk about tire grooving

Wildman

Over Analyzer Extraordinaire...............
Staff Member
Supporting Member
Let me start this by saying I have NEVER done this before so I have no knowledge about how or in what way to cut a tire. A few (6-8) years ago I got a tire groover for Christmas but never got a chance to use it. Now that I am able to I am looking at the how and why of cutting my tires. I have 38X12.5x16.5 TSL SX tires that have a ton of tread still on them and while they work pretty good I've seen people who had grooved their tires before and they seemed to work better.

Here is the tire groover that I have. Ideal Tire Groover Cutter http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-5...0001&campid=5337789113&icep_item=270665174651

I have a bunch of different sized blade but right now couldn't tell you what they are.

https://www.bing.com/videos/search?...3BF6BC3253D93FB897703BF6BC3253D93&FORM=VDQVAP
So I'm curious to hear from anyone who has grooved their tires before and any tips or pointers as to what to do and not do.

This site contains affiliate links for which Jeep Wrangler TJ Forum may be compensated.
Lots of work! Never did it, watched it once on some boggers. Keep us up to date, I’d like to see what you end up with. TSL’s can be made to flex more with a smart cut.

I’d say you want to avoid too small of lugs as they would chunk easier, that’s all I can offer.

Reactions: Wildman
I own a tool similar to that, acquired in a group buy. Still new in the box after 20 years.

It was the hot thing in my jeep club for a while. Some guys siped their tires to get better grip on rocks, others did it to eek a few more miles out of their tires. I decided that it was much too much trouble for me whatever the benefit might be and never used the tool.

I should look for it in the garage and pass it on to someone who will use it.