New here looking for a TJ for my first Jeep

RicketyTicket

I have found 2 TJ's in my area and price range. I'm having a hard time figuring out what the best deal is. The following are the excerpts from the craigslist adds. I haven't seen either in person.

2002 2006
Jeep Wrangler Sahara 4.0L Wrangler X
5 speed manual 6 speed manual
82,269 miles 62,xxx miles
black with tan hard top Black with black soft top (new)
excellent interior Interior probably 60-75%
5 new wheels, 4 new tires 33" tires (50%) 5 wheels and tires matching
$11,995 $14,000 OBO
Extras:new Kenwood stereo with speakers
spider sun shade, new soft top (no leaks),
full doors, Thule 2 bike rack

00v0v_ksSwBACnei3_600x450.jpg

00D0D_l6YLlaJVHnA_600x450.jpg

My notes:
2002: interior looks in better shape than the other but maybe reupholstered, wheels are good looking black with bead lock look not gaudy though, hard top seems like a positive to me but again this is my first time seriously looking into Jeeps.
Cruise control standard in Sahara unless I read this wrong somewhere else, which is a big plus.

2006: "everything works and kept in garage" from add. Lift with no more info given. Currently has cheap looking chrome bumpers and side steps that I don't like. Wheels and tires are good looking all 5 match, interior is a little beat up. Does have A/C but no cruise control

All opinions are welcome! Should I go for one of these or keep looking?

You know what it's going to come down to? Which one has the least amount of rust on it... Seriously.

The hardtop makes it a little more desirable in my opinion, but more so I would get underneath each one of them and figure out which one has little to no rust, as that is well known to be the biggest issue with these vehicles. A rust free TJ can be worth a pretty penny!

I'm siding with the 2002 by far. Hard top, AC (which is nice if you ever need it), looks cleaner, etc.

Reactions: Head Lice and JP98