New to 4WD, USA and Wranglers

A

AUtoUS

G'day guys,

I am in the process of moving to MA from Australia to be with my fiance\wife.

I have a lot of experience with V8 and rotary sports cars however I have never had a 4wd so be kind.

I am definitely sold on a TJ however I really am not sure what model I require. I could pay the extra for a Rubicon, I am seeing a lot for around 10k USD and Sports for around 8k so its not that big of a difference for a better vehicle.

Now here is the the thing.

I probably would never use it past heavy trails or beach driving and can guarantee I would never rock climb in it because it will be my daily and i wouldn't want to risk crashing it or snapping stuff but it will deal with heavy snow as I will be living in MA.

I notice a Rubicon has bigger wheels, stronger and lower diff ratios and "locker" I am not sure about the locker because my common sense would assume any 4wd would have an LSD? Also I note the 05-06 has the 6 speed.

Is there anything wrong with the 5 speed and honestly which would be the best model to drive at 85 mph on the highway with?

I want to get the "best" model however I still want to be able to take heavy trails and feel like I have a real machine.

Mod wise I will be doing engine mods to get more power and putting fat tires on it but not taller.

I feel like I should get the newest model because of the 6 speed but really can enjoy a 5 speed just as much as long as the ratios are nice.

Summary:

- Wanting the "best" model
- Highway RPM a factor, 0-60 mph a factor (lol)
- What RPM is 85 in high gear on rubicon v sport
- Heavy trail use, Heavy snow, no rock climbing
- Unsure what locker means or why DANA 44 is better apart from low ratio
- Unsure about the difference in transfer case
- Is the 6 speed worth restricting myself to 05-06
- I saw someone saying 05-06 are not good, I saw the engine was slightly modified. What is the reason they are controversial?