New to TJs and looking to buy, need some advice

MadcityTJ

Hello everyone, i'm new to Wranglers and i'm in the process of finding a relatively clean example for daily driver duty as well as light offroading for excursions into the north woods of Wisconsin and hauling my bikes around. i've got several leads, but i need some advice about what constitutes acceptable frame rust and what's repairable. one of the candidates is in generally ok condition, though it has 195,000 miles. one of the frames rails looks like this, however.
IMG_1802_zpsqzekamno.jpg

is this repairable? the guy wants $4500. is that a good price? comes with hard and soft top. the rest of the jeep looks like this:

01212_fApNth7VFz9_1200x900.jpg

IMG_1803_zpsymdflbhx.jpg

IMG_1800_zpsivvi9xu0.jpg

IMG_1808_zps2yinvwhp.jpg

Thanks for helping a newbie!

Holy cow... Stay far, far, far away from that thing. That frame is just waiting to snap in half from that rust (it happens too!). Rust is a Wranglers worst nightmare. If you can afford it, you ought to look to spend more money and get a TJ that is rust free. That rust is very, very bad. The resale value with that sort of rust is next to nothing.

Walk from that one. Looks like it would be a pretty thorough resto. New KO2s on the front look good. Rear is old style KOs tires. Hard top would be worth some money but they screwed in the racks. I dunno looks like a lot to fix. What other leads did you have?

Reactions: MadcityTJ
well this one is 20 minutes away from me, and the price was really appealing. the others i have as leads are an hour away and are at the top of my price range. looking to keep it close to $6k.

one of the other candidates:
01010_gPuvZ7olRnP_600x450.jpg

00j0j_bKFFwAtRQno_600x450.jpg

$6,900, 190k, Ford 8.8 rear end and Tummy Tuck. way overbuilt for my needs, but it looks really nice.

other one is less nice, but comes with a plow. waiting on underbody pics. mileage unknown as of yet:
00s0s_G9stfbWf6i_600x450.jpg