Rocker panel diamond plates?

0ver7and

Have purchased my first TJ last September and failed to do anti rust before winter really hit, I have a few rust spots that are starting to appear on the rocker panels. No holes yet, just rusted metal + bubbled up paint.

Now the plan:

• Sand / grind all the rust down
  • Paint the treated areas with POR15
  • Apply a layer of Bondo on top
  • Spray a coat of bedliner (or rock guard?) on top of the bondo
  • Paint diamond plates
  • Install the diamond plates.
I'm pretty new to body work and detailing in general, please let me know if you'd do something differently (suggestions, etc).

My bigger confusion is to how to install the said diamond plates on the rocker panels? I understand it's mostly done with rivets - however I live in Canada (Quebec) so very harsh environment and lots of salt during winters. I would prefer avoiding making holes in the body for them not to start rusting next winter. Is there a way to simply use automotive adhesive to stick them on? If not, how would you go about securing the holes you've drilled in the body for them not to rust?

All and any help is appreciated!!

Thanks in advance :)

The diamond plate like the Rubicons have, which I have on mine, did require drilling holes in the body and adding nutserts. The also mount to existing locations underneath. About the only thing that wouldn't require some holes, is maybe some cheesy plastic diamond plate "looking" stuff, but actual diamond plate is too heavy for double sided tape.

The diamond plate like the Rubicons have, which I have on mine, did require drilling holes in the body and adding nutserts. The also mount to existing locations underneath. About the only thing that wouldn't require some holes, is maybe some cheesy plastic diamond plate "looking" stuff, but actual diamond plate is too heavy for double sided tape.

Thanks for the reply,