Rust Problem

TJ_Man99

Ok, so I live in Va and we have to get our cars inspected once a year. I went to get my inspected today and it failed because of the rust on my tub. The man at the garage I took it to said that it would be about a 10 to 15hr job for them to do it at $104 an hr. Is that that I can expect from other places? At what point do I need to find a scrape yard to take it off my hands. I love the jeep but I'm a college student who cant afford to drop thousands of dollars on a car right now.

20200309_175440.jpg

20200309_175449.jpg

You're looking at the start of a very deep, very expensive, rabbit hole. It's either going to suck up a bunch of your time and energy, or money if you have someone else do it.

Sounds like you just need reliable transportation, not a rusted out project. I would ditch it for whatever it will sell for in it's current condition and find something else.

Reactions: Chris and bromel
Ok, so I live in Va and we have to get our cars inspected once a year. I went to get my inspected today and it failed because of the rust on my tub. The man at the garage I took it to said that it would be about a 10 to 15hr job for them to do it at $104 an hr. Is that that I can expect from other places? At what point do I need to find a scrape yard to take it off my hands. I love the jeep but I'm a college student who cant afford to drop thousands of dollars on a car right now.

View attachment 145152

View attachment 145153
That is a difficult and expensive repair if you don’t a welder and tons of time.