Sound system advice

isu2815

I know there was a thread about this a week or two ago but I'm also planning to upgrade my sound system. Below is what I'm planning on...thoughts?

Headunit option #1
Headunit option #2 (will require double-din bracket)
Front Speakers Polk MM1 5.25
Soundbar Polk MM1 6.5

Thinking about adding one of the compact subs from either Kicker, Pioneer, Kenwood, or Alpine and putting in it my rear seat (similar to what Rob did).

Will I need a small amp to adequately power all of this?

I'm not that experienced with car audio work but used to IT-type wiring so I think I'll be able to figure it out with a little guidance/advice.

I am a new TJ owner but I can help a bit since I used to be a warranty manager for a car audio retailer. I never added systems to my vehicles but I know a few things. Also, I have the stock 2 speaker set up and its horrible so I've been looking myself too.

In my opinion, the absolute best looking HU could find is the Clarion M508. I posted pictures on another thread but if you look up #clarionm508 on IG you will see a couple install pics. If you go to the ClarionUSA profile there's a few more pics. I just think it belongs in the dash of the TJs. It is also water resistant!

You will also definitely need an amp for those speakers. If not you are just wasting your money on them.

I also plan on going with polk for my speakers since they are water resistant as well. I will go with the DB series though. The MM is the higher end model and I feel its a waste of money with the poor acoustics of our TJs. Specially with the top down. With that said, most people would have a hard time telling them apart if played thru the same HU and amp.They are both good sets.

If you get an amp make sure you match the RMS wattage to the speakers. Remember both the MM and the DB models have 4ohms impedance so look at the amp's power rating at 4ohms.