Time for Aux lights...

Vulture

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Hi everyone, it's getting to be time on my build to think about auxiliary LED lighting. Before I spend some cash and go to the task of mounting and wiring extra lighting, I thought I'd put this out there and get everyone's experienced opinion on the topic. I've looked at all the options, overhead light bars, pillar mount, hood mount, bumper, etc. Light bars, cubes, round, flood, driving, spot....It just goes on forever! I have no personal experience with auxiliary lighting on my TJ. So here's the questions; How much is actually enough? In your experience, which mounting positions actually work the best? Has anyone had problems with glare on the hood and fenders from high-mount lights? Anything that's an absolute no-go? Spot? Flood? Brand recommendation? How do you have your lights set up? Thanks in advance for any input and advice/pics that you have to offer!

Reactions: Chris
I've said it once and I'll say it again (and I stand firmly on this one). There is absolutely, positively, no reason whatsoever that you would need auxiliary lighting with a good set of LED headlights.

Case in point: I bought a set of Truck Lite LED headlights. I was thinking I would need some LED fog lights and an LED light bar to go with them before having installed the headlights. Boy was I wrong... I mean I was REALLY wrong.

Those headlights are so amazingly bright, that when we hit the back roads (the ones with no street lights and no traffic) out here at the Oregon Coast (where it's as dark as can be), I can see so well it's just mind blowing. On high beams these things light up the entire night and then some, it's like having spotlights!

So I suggest some nice LED headlights. Then you also spare yourself the stupid look (my opinion of course) of light bars and LED cube lights (which has become a played out as halos if you ask me).

Just my suggestion, but it's coming from someone who has first hand experience!