When you break a U-joint, is it because of the lack of material in the yoke?

Farmergreg

The work will set you free
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
Question since I'm relatively new to this hobby regarding axle strength.

I broke the passenger side u-joint last sunday. Wasn't beating the jeep was climbing a waterfall kind on thing and the wheels were straight, I clutched it and it rolled backwards some, let out on the clutch (no gas applied) and it popped. Joint looked like it had adequate lube in it. Probably original joints on a 203K non-wheeled jeep until now.

So when you break a joint, is it because of the lack of material in the yoke?
(My inner shaft has one egg shaped ear and both shaft yokes are spread)

Are G-2, Ten Factory, Revolution, or RCV the answer?

Would you just chase the break deeper into the driveline? (break the differential)

Last edited:

I broke the passenger side u-joint last sunday. Wasn't beating the jeep was climbing a waterfall kind on thing and the wheels were straight, I clutched it and it rolled backwards some, let out on the clutch (no gas applied) and it popped. Joint looked like it had adequate lube in it. Probably original joints on a 203K non-wheeled jeep until now.

Would you just chase the break deeper into the driveline? (break the differential)

Friend who is a serious wheeler says they can change an axle on the trail in 30 min. A stronger axle might exposed a different fail point that is not so easy to fix.

@Chris could you move this to a new topic? I probably shouldn't have buried it in this thread.

No lack of material in this joint

th.gif

Reactions: Farmergreg
Kind of hesitant to chime in because front axle u-joints are new to and I didn't spot it when one of mine failed. Here's my non-expert opinion as someone who has had u-joints fail on 2 different rwd vehicles and a front axle cv joint fail on a fwd vehicle.