4" Lift Component Guidance

SouthernTJ2000

TJ Enthusiast
Okay y'all. I need some guidance here. Little background info. I'm a greenhorn to the Jeep platform, a novice wheeler, and plenty experienced on wrenching. I picked up a '00 (4.0 5spd) with a 4" RC suspension lift, it does have front sway bar disconnects, and I'm running 33x12.5/15 MT. Like with any and all used vehicles I purchase, I'm going over it with a fine tooth comb. The current suspension, while not completely shot, is clearly on its way to the trash pile. The rear seems to be in rougher shape than the front. I plan to piece together a new 4" kit over the next 4-8 weeks and install it myself as I go. I've already picked up a set of Bilstein 5100', rear sway bar bushings and end links. The Jeep will see mostly pavement pounding, however I will wheel it any and every chance I get, lets call it 6 - 12 times a year for now. As I'm a novice wheeler, and this is a new platform to me, my wheeling for the foreseeable future will be mostly 1-2 "stars/diamond/lvl" with possibly some 3 thrown in from time to time. I will not be hitting 4 & 5 stuff anytime soon....or so I say. I'd like to stay under $1000 at the end of the day, however do realize you have to pay to play. I do not need, nor want a "comp" ready rig at this time, and do not need the "coolest" stuff either. I want functional and dependable. With all of this being said, what brand(s) would y'all suggest I look at? What brands should I stay away from? I was looking at the Core 4x4 Cruise series of components, however was reading mixed reviews. I definitely like the price point. Thanks for any and all suggestions/help/guidance.

PS - I did a search, however my search keywords typically suck, or what I found was 4+ years old.

Last edited:
Reactions: P man