A new whine has developed

BendLarry

TJ Addict
In the last few days I have noticed a new engine whine. It sounds like a power steering pump but the noise is not affected by turning the wheel. I have not had the engine wet. Turning on the AC has no effect. the sound changes with rpm. My Rubicon only has 24,000. miles. I'm new to Jeeps so any ideas? Water pump, alternator or what??

In the last few days I have noticed a new engine whine. It sounds like a power steering pump but the noise is not affected by turning the wheel. I have not had the engine wet. Turning on the AC has no effect. the sound changes with rpm. My Rubicon only has 24,000. miles. I'm new to Jeeps so any ideas? Water pump, alternator or what??
Update. The whine isn't coming from the engine compartment or can I hear it when under the rig. It's loudest under the dash. I have been doing a little bit of wiring, getting my rig setup to tow. I am now thinking it's a motor, possibly a fan motor or something buried in the dash. I may start pulling fuses to see if the noise can be isolated. Very odd, I swear it sounds just like a power steering pump.

I now believe the whine to be coming from the automatic transmission. From what I have read this seems to be a fairly common issue. The fluid color is good and does not have a burnt smell. Some say if you replace the fluid and filter it sometimes goes away. With only 24K miles it doesn't seem like I should need to do that yet.

Miles can be deceiving. An older vehicle with low miles can be just as bad as purchasing an older vehicle with high miles. Of course yours has 24k miles, so that really isn't bad. That means it was driven, it just wasn't driven as a daily driver.

These 42RLE transmissions can be problematic. Is it whining all the time? Does it whine increase with speed?

I just haven't heard of this issue in relation to the transmission before.

Reactions: BendLarry