Advice on 2003 Rubicon I'm looking at purchasing

hofersf49

Hello to everyone just another noob here. Looking for some advice. I have a 2003 Rubicon that I am looking at. The link will be below if you want to check it out. The Jeep has 70k miles on it and I can get it for 12k. KBB has already told me that this is not a bad but not a good deal. Where I am looking for advice is can it be a daily? I have a Corvette that will never be my daily and would love to have a Jeep but I'm just not sure it's a good idea to use as a daily. My research has turned up that the TJ is super reliable but not extremely to fix common issues. Any help would be appreciated.

http://www.goodesautos.com/2003-Jeep-Wrangler/Used-SUV/NewportNews-VA/11110080/Details.aspx

Okay, well first off, a Rubicon for 13k is a hell of a deal, in fact it's a STEAL! I paid 20k for mine with 60k miles on it, and they sell for 20-25k all day long here in the PNW, assuming they are clean, low mileage, and rust free.

Now, I will say that if that the number one thing to look for on a used TJ is a rusty frame. Given the price point and the fact that it's in VA, I'm pretty sure that thing is rusted, in which case that price would be too much.

No one here can tell you if that is a solid buy without seeing many more high resolution photos, particularly of the underside. The mileage is good, and it looks pretty clean from the outside (minus those ridiculous looking YJ esque fender flares).

A rusted TJ is not something you want to buy, and these things are notorious for rusting. When sellers don't upload photos of the frame (or other high resolution photos), I immediately assume they are hiding something. Don't bother going to look at it unless it's either close by, or you can get good photos of the underside. A TJ with a rusted frame isn't worth anywhere near 13k if the rust is bad.