Anybody install an aftermarket cruise control system on their TJ?


OP
finchmeister08
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
25
Location
Eufaula, AL
The unused connector in the engine should be easy to recognize if there. Driver side fender, midway up, and is one of the connectors with the little red locking clip.

If you are sure what that looks like, the speed-o on the back of the transfer case, the fuel pump on near the gas tank, the hard top harness, and the cruise control may be the only red locking pin harnesses in the TJ.
i find it hard to believe that mine isn't already wired when everyone swears up and down that all of the '05-'06 models had it. from what i've seen/read, this is the only place the plug is located and it's not there for me. it doesn't even appear as if it's been snipped/cut off.

2020-01-17_1509.png
 

vinsanity

Breaker of things. Sometimes fixer of things.
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
98
Location
Portland, OR
i find it hard to believe that mine isn't already wired when everyone swears up and down that all of the '05-'06 models had it. from what i've seen/read, this is the only place the plug is located and it's not there for me. it doesn't even appear as if it's been snipped/cut off.

View attachment 134980
Yeah, that is weird. I didn't know 05-06 were all wired, but that is indeed a cruise control plug. You can see the little red clip if you look carefully. You don't have that, huh? I also can't imagine someone cutting that off.
 

eastbloc

TJ Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
734
Location
FL
i find it hard to believe that mine isn't already wired when everyone swears up and down that all of the '05-'06 models had it. from what i've seen/read, this is the only place the plug is located and it's not there for me. it doesn't even appear as if it's been snipped/cut off.


If it is not there, it is not there.
Not all are wired for it, regardless of the year.
I have probably a total of 20 minutes of staring time into that spot over a period of a month. And every time i did it, its because everyone swears up and down that it should have it, so i kept opening the hood just to make sure that 11 previous times i opened it were not in my dream.

You are not alone, i have counted 6 people so far who don't have it. Hope this misinformation ends soon.
 
  • Haha
Reactions: vinsanity

vinsanity

Breaker of things. Sometimes fixer of things.
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
98
Location
Portland, OR
@vinsanity @WWII Jeeper
Where did you guys mount your unit? I could not think of a better spot than on tray under the booster

There should be piece of flat bar stock that attaches to the control unit with lots of holes in it. To the passenger side of the power brake booster, there were two stock bolts that come out of the firewall at the same level a few inches apart, and have nuts on them. I added an extra hole in the bar so that it would slide right on those two bolts and put the nuts back on. I might have had to bend the bar a little so that the box didn't hit the firewall. I don't have that Jeep anymore or I would just take a picture for you, and I've relocated a bunch of stuff to that location on my LJ so I can't take a picture of the bolts. Hope that's at least mildly clear.
 

eastbloc

TJ Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
734
Location
FL
There should be piece of flat bar stock that attaches to the control unit with lots of holes in it. To the passenger side of the power brake booster, there were two stock bolts that come out of the firewall at the same level a few inches apart, and have nuts on them. I added an extra hole in the bar so that it would slide right on those two bolts and put the nuts back on. I might have had to bend the bar a little so that the box didn't hit the firewall. I don't have that Jeep anymore or I would just take a picture for you, and I've relocated a bunch of stuff to that location on my LJ so I can't take a picture of the bolts. Hope that's at least mildly clear

Yes absolutely, thank you very much.
 

eastbloc

TJ Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
734
Location
FL
how'd it turn out? did you buy the kit because of this thread?

So far on pause due to the weather. Unit is mounted and everything is wired besides the power wire.
Current issue is reaching the power wire to the fuse box, because i tapped into a speed wire in the PCM, and the only firewall exit i could find was on the driver side.

I purchased it because I had my eyes on this kit for a long time, but i couldn't find the courage to do the wiring job. I simply lack the experience and basic knowledge. Don't have any clue on what i can and cant touch or connect together, but i do know the consequences of replacing fried wiring harness 😰💀.
However, last 30 hour round trip kicked my butt. It was not the first one, and defiantly not the last one.
 

eastbloc

TJ Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
734
Location
FL
Got a chance to test it out today - i love it.
Every time i stick something new into a Jeep, i get very impatient to play with it, so i will probably end up on a road trip tomorrow.

But, so far so good. It held speed and adjusted to changes in speed promptly and smoothly on medium sensitivity settings. Still need to hook up clutch switch, as well as make up my mind on the controller. The traditional arm style is the most friendly, simple plug and play, but cant figure out where to put it, plastic around steering column seems too flimsy. Panel style can be mounted nearly everywhere, but it has extra wires that im gonna have to figure out.
 

Steel City 06

TJ Expert
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
4,062
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
There should already be a sensor in place for the clutch ignition interlock. Whether or not it can be used for the cruise control I have no idea.
Came across this in the FSM today:


The Clutch Pedal Position Switch (CPPS) is located under the instrument panel, attached to the clutch master cylinder push rod (Fig. 11). The wiring harness connector is inside of the vehicle under the left side of the instrument panel (Fig. 12).

The clutch pedal position switch is used to prevent starter motor engagement unless the clutch pedal is depressed. An input from this switch is also used to either shut down/prevent operation of the speed control system when pedal is depressed.


So it looks like the sensor is used for both the interlock and the cruise control
 

DickD1911

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
50
Location
Orlando, FL, United States
I too have an '06 without the factory pre wire...
I am considering getting the Rostra as described in this thread but am unsure where I will find the tach & VSS wires???
Any information where others have run these wires would be helpful.
 

eastbloc

TJ Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
734
Location
FL
I too have an '06 without the factory pre wire...
I am considering getting the Rostra as described in this thread but am unsure where I will find the tach & VSS wires???
Any information where others have run these wires would be helpful.

I don't mind showing you what i did, but it will be much more beneficial for you if i tell you to look into a manual and figure it out for yourself.
If you would still prefer for me to show, i will.
 

DickD1911

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
50
Location
Orlando, FL, United States
I don't mind showing you what i did, but it will be much more beneficial for you if i tell you to look into a manual and figure it out for yourself.
If you would still prefer for me to show, i will.

Thanks but never mind, I don't prefer you to show me.
I am sure JeepersDen in Orlando can help me with the information.

Where did you guys mount your unit?
I was thinking to to exchange traditional for a panel control. Where did you mount yours?
Also, did you have to order clutch pedal sensor?
 

Xysos

Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2020
Messages
77
Location
Alamosa, Colorado / Salida, Colorado
If you are wired for it.
There was a post somewhere stating that if you don't have wiring, it will be a major pita to go factory rout.

I was not pre-wired and I did all the wiring myself after sourcing the necessary parts from ebay. Took a solid few hours. Has been very nice for the longer drives out to camping and wheeling destinations.
 

Dezern

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2021
Messages
1
Location
Cary, NC
Since no body had any information on a thread I started yesterday about the wiring harness for CC, I figured I'd look into aftermarket kits. Unfortunately for me, my 2006 was not a model that was pre-wired for CC. I've considered buying a full wiring harness off eBay, but I don't trust the users there enough to label their items correctly. I don't feel like paying $50-100 for something I already have. If I could find just the "overlay harness", I be more inclined to use factory CC, but these parts are becoming more rare and rare.

So, aftermarket it is. I found one on a website called The Cruise Control Store. They sell a brand called Rostra ($250).

https://www.thecruisecontrolstore.com/1997-2006-jeep-wrangler-complete-rostra-cruise-control-kit/

Does anybody have any experience installing these?
My experience has been that this system works fine unless it gets hot outside. Mine is very intermittent during summer months. I'm going to try to figure out a way to force some outside air on the control module under the hood