Anyone fly Old Glory on Memorial Day?

KCsTJ

TJ student
Supporting Member
I dressed out the white TJ..
20190526_135022.jpg

Yep, went to the local parade as usual too. Great looking TJ with the Stars and Stripes. I am curious about the Israeli flag as well.

Reactions: KCsTJ
A few years ago our town put in street lights down the 2 mile stretch of main road with flag mounts, and fly Old Glory on any type of American holiday 🙂 I was out wheeling yesterday and found tons of camp sights with a flag fluttering in the wind.

I'm sure this is going to stir things up, but after watching a pickup truck going down I-94 at ~80+ MPH, weaving in and out of traffic, with a tattered American Flag in the bed of the truck, I feel compelled to respond.

I am a US Army veteran. I come from a long line of military family members. I have relatives killed in action whom I honored this past Memorial Day. My opinion is that it is disrespectful to fly the American flag on a non-military vehicle. That said, the United States Flag Code does not expressly prohibit it. The code does state however, how the flag should be displayed if you choose to do so:

§ 7. Position and manner of display
The flag, when carried in a procession with another flag or flags, should be either on the marching right; that is, the flag's own right, or, if there is a line of other flags, in front of the center of that line.
(b) The flag should not be draped over the hood, top, sides, or back of a vehicle or of a railroad train or a boat. When the flag is displayed on a motorcar, the staff shall be fixed firmly to the chassis or clamped to the right fender.
...​

And if you do display a flag on your vehicle, you should remove it at night (unless properly illuminated) and remove it during rain or high winds (by my reckoning, highway speed is high wind) unless it is an all weather flag:

§6. Time and occasions for display