BigWidd's Big Adventure

BigWidd

Another newbie here.
We purchased a 06 Unlimited Rubicon in October of 2018. The vehicle only had 62,000 miles and was in very nice condition. Or so I thought.
The owner told us "This Jeep is in perfect condition and doesn't need a thing, no oil leaks, blah, blah, blah."
It drove okay and seemed to be everything he said. I had been looking for a TJ and specifically targeted the Unlimited because of the longer wheelbase.
My preference was an automatic and hoped to find one in Yellow. So this checked all the boxes for me. And the wife liked it as well......win, win!
When I met him at the Credit Union a couple of days later, he handed me a cheap code reader and said, " I Thought I would give this to you in case the Check Engine Light ever comes on." I did not think much about it at the time. But the very next day, it was at the forefront of my thoughts. The blasted CEL lit up like a bad omen.
Biscuits and Gravy.....now what???
To be continued......

Reactions: GorillaBiscuit
Continuation of post #309.

Since the CEL was on now, I plug in the code reader so generously provided to me by the previous owner, only to find that it did not work. So, I take a trip to the nearest O'Reilly Auto Parts and the smiling employee comes out with his code reader and plugs into my newly acquired "Thrill Ride". He looks at the screen and says, "Uhhh, how much ink do you have in your pen?" I think to myself, this can't be good. He starts reading off the codes, P0218, transmission over temp; P0714 harsh shifts; P02098 bank 2 lean condition; P0455, P0456 & P0457 large and small vacuum leaks. Good thing I had a nearly new pen.
I come home and sit down at the computer and bring up this very forum, and couldn't believe what I was seeing. Page after page of discussions regarding the very issues I was facing. I asked myself, ugh, did we just buy a big piece of sh**? Welcome to the Jeep lifestyle my friend.

To be continued....