Check engine light comes on when I insert a 40 amp into the access 1 fuse slot

lyeli

Hey everyone,

My first time posting onto this website.

This is my first time owning a jeep tj (third owner), so I'm new to diagnosing the issues and fixing one up. My jeep is a 2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon that has 70k miles on it. When I got the jeep, the windshield wipers and wiper fluids weren't working. The original owner stated that they were working when he drove the car and that he recently replaced the switches. Now, I did do some research and found out it wasn't the wiper motor that was broken nor was it my switches. I also replaced the "FRT Wiper" fuse under the glove box and it still wasn't working.

I stumbled upon another forum where the same person had this issue and he/she resolved it by putting a 40 amp fuse inside the "access 1" fuse slot under the hood. I did the same thing, and the wipers actually worked.

Now I have two concerning questions:

1. I know that "access 1" stands for accessory slot, however, is it okay for me to just add a 40 amp fuse inside that slot for a very long time? This brings me to my next concern of why I asked that.

2. The same day I added that 40 amp fuse inside the "access 1" fuse slot, my check engine light came on. Now, I do know how to fix it if it was my gas cap, but that wasn't the case. I ran the diagnosis & the code read "bUS b0 PAnEL oPEn" (Not sure what this means).

The previous owner, and I'm sure many other jeep owners have this problem, mentioned that the check engine light will pop up from time to time. So, he told me to just disconnect/reconnect the battery and it should go away. I've done this, but after a couple of start ups, the check engine light came back on. I was thinking it was relating to that 40 amp fuse. I tested this by removing the 40 amp fuse -> restarting the battery to make the CEL disappear -> and after driving for a couple of days, the CEL never came back on.