Coil spring questions

gosborne

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Ok I've got a few of questions. I've been building my 99' Tj for a couple of years now. I put a 4" rough country short arm lift on it and within a few weeks the only thing left on it RC was the coil springs & windshield banner. It now has Core 4x4 adj. upper and lower control arms, Core 4x4 adjustable front track bar, Advance adapter slip yoke and Adams driveshafts front and rear. Rancho 5000x shocks & 33x12.50x15 ( run at 26psi) I'm happy with the setup BUT winters coming and my shop is empty. Question one: Are the RC coil springs any good ? Looking to fine tune the ride on the washboard roads I travel. Question two: I've been looking at Metalcloak dual rate 4.5" coil springs. Will the extra 1/2" change the geometry enough to get me in any trouble? Or am I just wasting my time and money ? I also tow a 4x6 trailer I built. Rear track bar relocation bracket is still on it. Also looking at Rusty's off road long arm upgrade

IMG_20210916_104245053 (2).jpg

DSCF7844.JPG

Last edited:
Coil springs mainly provide lift. If you are getting the amount of lift you want, there is no reason to change your RC springs. It won't change your ride quality. What could change your ride quality would relate to your shocks. You are aiming for riding in the middle of your travel (50:50 up/down travel bias). If you are trying to fine tune your shock performance over washboard roads, you will need to buy some tunable shocks. They are about $500/shock.