Control arm design question

WesRJ86

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
I understand it's generally best to just buy adjustable control arms, that's not what this thread is meant to discuss. I'm curious why companies and the few who do build their own seem to use DOM? Would using solid round stock, steel or aluminum, that has been drilled and tapped in the ends be the same? I understand the DOM would be lighter, is that the only advantage? I'm new to trying to understand the design and material choices for suspensions so excuse me if the answer is obvious.

Core 4x4 and others use DOM. Different wall thicknesses. Usually the lowers use a heavier wall tube.

Saavy uses solid aluminum.

Lots of choices.

I'm saving up for the Saavys.

-Mac

Other companies use solid stock, RockKrawler is one. I'm no metallurgist, but my understanding is that DOM has almost the same resistance to bending as solid (solid is still stronger) at a fraction of the weight. I've used both. The solid stock I have is usally from shit RockKrawler lifts I've removed.
:D

• Haha
Reactions: NashvilleTJ and JMT
I don't know current prices but at some point (dia + wall) tubing is also cheaper than solid. It's a more efficient use of material.

my understanding is that DOM has almost the same resistance to bending as solid (solid is still stronger) at a fraction of the weight.
:D
You can't say that without providing spec's since that is a shit rule of thumb. You can however, find a tube strength calculator and use that to define various strength ratings of common tube and solid bar diameters as a comparison. Rogue has one that is pretty easy to use.
Keep all the parameters the same but change material and wall thickness to get the safety factor the same for comparison or keep the load the same and watch the change in the safety factor.
This is 2" x .120 wall in normal DOM. If you change only the material, you can see the change in safety factor.
1678541227704.png

1678541358524.png