Crown Control Arms

Jytrbug

Replacing the oem upper control arms on my 04 rubicon. Has anyboby had an issue with the Crown bolt sleeve in the bushing being much larger than the stock arm? My oem bolts have alot of movement.

IMG_0786.JPG

IMG_0787.JPG

Just wanted to bump this up for you. I have no experience with them, but I’ve seen them recommended a lot as a stock replacement.

That does seem to not be a very good fit. Hopefully you’ll get some replies.

X2, same here on all that. @mrblaine will confirm it's more about proper clamping force being more important than the bolt filling the hole but that sure seems to be a larger diameter bolt sleeve than seems right.

Just wanted to bump this up for you. I have no experience with them, but I’ve seen them recommended a lot as a stock replacement.

Yeah I've read positive reviews also. So i contacted Crown and they measured a set of uca they have and it was 10.25mm. My oe bolt is 9.88mm. That would work but the new crown uca i bought measure 13.81mm rendering excessive play.

Reactions: MaloStapalo
X2, same here on all that. @mrblaine will confirm it's more about proper clamping force being more important than the bolt filling the hole but that sure seems to be a larger diameter bolt sleeve than seems right.
It isn't correct, but as long as he pushes them both to the front or the back before tightening, it won't hurt a thing.

Reactions: Jytrbug
Yeah I've read positive reviews also. So i contacted Crown and they measured a set of uca they have and it was 10.25mm. My oe bolt is 9.88mm. That would work but the new crown uca i bought measure 13.81mm rendering excessive play.
You have a slightly oversize hole. Once it is clamped by the bolt, there is no excessive play. Bias both arms the same, front or back and it will be fine.