Flag Etiquette

rookieTJ

Supporting Member
Hi All,

I'm pretty well versed in flag etiquette, but I have hit a stump. I've fabricated a mount for my tire carrier, but this would leave my US flag centered. Now usually the US flag when flown on a vehicle should be on the passenger side, before I mount my flag, I am curious, is it okay to fly a US flag on a vehicle centered? Being a VET, I am kind of ashamed of myself not knowing this.

Mine has always been on the driver side because I prefer it there. People who get caught up in arbitrary rules about how to fly the American flag forget what the flag represents in the first place, at least in my opinion.
If you were a soldier you know what it meant to mount it on the passenger side and it is not an arbitrary rule. The flag shall be to the observers left side as you face the vehicle.

Last edited:
If you were a soldier you know what it meant to mount it on the passenger side and it is not an arbitrary rule. The flag shall be to the observers left side as you face the vehicle.
No you're not a communist (just bec. you own a TJ Wrangler) :)
It is just an etiquette for a soldier serving the country.
Please explain for those of us who just don't know...

No need for argument. The definitive guide for flag protocol on non-military vehicles is here:

http://www.melvinroads1231.org/docs/Flag_Guidelines.pdf
However, despite all the protocols and all the rules, the First Amendment to the United States Constitution holds political speech sacrosanct, which in turn means that one's right to fly the United States flag anywhere on one's vehicle one might choose to fly it as a political statement is also sacrosanct.

At least until Kamala is anointed President.

No need for argument. The definitive guide for flag protocol on non-military vehicles is here:

http://www.melvinroads1231.org/docs/Flag_Guidelines.pdf