Gotta sell one, 99 TJ Sahara or 06 LJ?

B.E. Coyote

I am new to Jeeps. Last week I didn't own one. Now I own 2.

This may be too long for some.

I know right off the bat that the LJ being harder to find is probably the quick choice, but limited funds, storage and use come into play. I looked for a long time and either looked at junk or the nice jeeps sold in hours before I could get in line. I kind of settled when I bought the 99 but it is growing on me. Days later the LJ popped up. Right place, right time and I bought it out of passion not putting a ton of thought into it.

I have a small camp in WV. I am getting a little old for the dual sport motorcycles I have been riding and transitioning to jeeps or something else.

My plan was to buy a cheap Jeep to keep there. It would probably stay outside 8 months a year and in a shipping container the other 4 months, Maybe make the 500 mile round trip home once a year for a week of maintenance. Mostly exploring FS roads and very easy 4x4 trails.

The TJ, I could probably sell for around $6500 . It has 190k on it. Rebuilt title from an accident in 06 when it had 60k on it. I know that lowers the value but I'm not concerned about mechanical issues from the accident at this point. 3" lift plus a 1" body lift. 3 speed auto (preferred?), 4.0. No CEL but the AC does not work. New soft top which I prefer to a hard top. The frame is awesome. Nicest one I have seen in all the TJs that I looked at. Interior is also very nice. 30/35 with the 3.07 gearing. Currently on 33's.. Actually drives fine and would likely be fine for what I would want to do with it now. Maybe down the line I would need to re-gear or change the axles etc.