Help me prioritize my build plans

HDRider

TJ Enthusiast
Let me start out by saying you guys know way more about the TJ than I could hope to ever know. Many of you seem very capable when modifying or repairing your Jeeps. I am just starting to learn.

I bought a decent 2001 Sahara with an automatic and the 4.0. I just want it for exploring the gravel and back roads of Arkansas. It will spend a lot of time on pavement, and very little on an interstate. I am not trying to build an off road or rock climber. I simply always wanted a Jeep. I wish I would have bought a brand new one back in the day and kept it in good working order. Could of, would of, should of. A new one today does not appeal to me.

I wanted to ask if you might take some time and help me prioritize my attack plan. I will not be doing most of the work. I will do what I can. I have a good mechanic lined up. I don't want to break the bank, but I'd like to see the old gal back in shape.

Here is what she looks like. I got her May 26, 2022. She shows 152,803 miles.

1653831120058.png

Fill in your profile with as much information about the jeep that you know of (engine, transmission, gearing, ect.)

This will help a lot.

Reactions: L J and Chris
Looks like a good baseline to start on, and not terribly molested. I'd say first off, determine what lift, if any, it has.
Take some pics of the springs, especially the top/bottom perches that the spring ride in. Then measure the springs at ride height on level ground. Lets see pics of shocks and steering components. The wheels/tires will need to go for something a bit more period correct and sized for the lift you have.
General maintenance is key. Get all the fluids changed, tuned up and cooling system flush/refresh.
That's a good start.