Is this LJ Rubicon worth the money?

1945GPW

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Hope this is the right place to ask the question. I am kind of new to the newer jeeps, I am more familiar with the 1940s through 80s lol anyway looking at buying this 2005 LJ, said he would go 23k on it. With the mods and stuff he has is it worth the money or can I get something similar for less money without the half cab hard top? Also how do the Auto transmissions hold up in these? I don't like the idea of an auto but can live with it for the right jeep if they are good. has 81k miles 4 inch lift, electric steps, warn bumpers and winch, led lights, and lockers. Let me know what you all think, thanks

00o0o_bz63j7sgz59_600x450.jpg

00Z0Z_d0sqvhstYBt_600x450.jpg

00S0S_cAjvCE0dRjs_600x450.jpg

00J0J_6L87deKUlfw_600x450.jpg

Is it from an area that salts roads? Frame rust must be your top concern. If you can get pictures of the frame we can help. Pictures around the side body mounts, TC skid plate mounting bolts, fuel tank and the areas where the lower control arms attach to the frame would be helpful.

The LJ Rubicon is sort of the unicorn of the Jeep world, so it could be worth around that much depending on it's condition.

If the frame is rust free and he has the original hard top as well, then yeah, I would say it's worth 23k. But it's got to be 99% rust free to be worth that price IMHO.

Clean, rust free, and low mileage LJ Rubicons can easily go for 30k, sometimes more. The keyword there though is "rust free".

The seller said it is rust free inside and out. Obviously I will inspect the Jeep completely for that before I move forward. He said that when the rubitrux conversion was done it was repainted the orange color. I will inspect that as well to see if it was done professionally or not.

Reactions: Chris
He doesn’t have the original hard top or back seat. Are the auto transmissions any good in these jeeps?