Just an Average Joe with a Jeep

Joe-Wrangler

Hello all! I've always wanted a Jeep (and we all know there's only one real Jeep!) and finally picked one up a few weeks ago. While checking it out, I found great advice here on the forums and thought it could only be to my benefit to join in the fun.

I'm just your average joe. I was a tank mechanic in the Army Nat. Guard, ride a motorcycle, lived full-time in an RV for 2 years while my wife and I explored the US (all the lower 48 states and the National Parks there-in). Now live in an A-frame in the mountains of Colorado and own an art supply store/custom frame shop. My first vehicle was a 1984 Jeep Waggoneer, it's good to be back in a Jeep and great to have 4x4! There are a lot of local roads that I just shouldn't be taking my car down. And since my wife and I just had our first kiddo (about 2 weeks ago) we needed a second vehicle. The Jeep will allow us to explore so much more, gives me a vehicle as a daily driver when I can't motorcycle so that my wife can keep the car, and is something that I can work on to keep a great vehicle on the road.

She's a 1998 SE with 4 cyls, 5 speeds, and a soft-top. About as basic as you can get (which is part of the appeal!). She also came with only 89,271 miles. I bought her from a little old lady whose doctor told her to quit trying to drive it - she hated to let it go but had come to terms that she couldn't take it out wheeling any longer. It's in great shape, with about 5 paint chips and no rust that I have found. Which is perfect for a) a daily driver and b) a vehicle that I plan to keep for a long time and to keep in great running shape.

IMG_1272.jpg

I'm sure there's more that I should put in there but nothing else I can think of off the top of my head. Ask away if you're curious. Cheers!

Welcome to the forum, you're definitely in the right place!