Need a "how to tow" tutorial on towing with tow straps

dallasdig

As snow is starting to fall across our country, I am interested in learning how to tow (or more specifically pull other vehicles out of ditches) with my TJ. This is my first year owning one and I need to know what equipment I would need (tow straps, etc.) and where to attach straps to the jeep and to other vehicles. I don't have a winch so not interested in winching people out. Figured the experts here could clue me in.

Reactions: Rubirob
We've got these threads:
How to properly tow your Jeep Wrangler TJ
Winching Without The Worry

However, none of those have to do with just towing someone out of a ditch with a tow strap. That's actually pretty easy as long as you know where the attachment points are on both vehicles.

Do you have stock bumpers, or aftermarket bumpers with attachment points on them?

Well, I personally wouldn't use a tow strap to pull someone out of anything, they are just two rigid. A "Bubba Rope" is best for this task IMHO. They stretch and spring to provide better pulling power and cause less damage. Just make sure you get the strength you think you'll need.

As far as a mounting location, any frame mounted attachment point will suffice, whether in the front or the rear of your Jeep. Also, the more center the attachment point the less sideways jerking you'll get.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01K2AH3F2/?tag=wranglerorg-20

Last edited: