Need advice on 35” tires

Daredevil96

I have a 2003 manual transmission Rubicon. My original goal was to get it to 35 inch tires. Now, I didn’t plan on doing this for another year or so but turns out, I might need new tires sooner or later. I am a college student at the moment, I got about a grand saved up in case the Jeep needed something. I know going to 35’s requires a few grand.

My original plan was to go to 35’s once I graduate but it looks like it might need tires sometime in the next couple of months. They’re 5 years old and I am starting to see the tires get dry (you can see some cracks or whatever in the tire).

Current set up is 3 inch Suspension lift, 4:10 gears, 33 in tires, powerstop oe replacement brake rotors and pads. Rancho 5000x shocks, Metal cloak front lower control arms and track bar. ZJ tie rod conversion with TJ draglink.

I might have to keep running with the current tires until one of them pops or when it is absolutely needed to change them. Thread life is good, it’s just the tires are old. I use it as a daily for now but planned on doing mods along the way.

I have the option of just changing my tires and keep everything as it is. I was looking at the BFG 33x12.5 KO2, and probably some pro comp steel wheels.

or get the 35’s, push it for a little while like that (maybe a year) until I can re-gear to 4:88, change control arms, adam’s driveshafts, black magic big brake kit etc. Keep in mind I have the manual transmission. I know they are a bit stronger than the automatics.

I would hate to spend $1000 on tires then have to swap them out a year later again for the 35’s. I just need advice on what is best or what you guys recommend.

I would choose one of two options:

1. Used tires. I'm sure you could find 33x12.5 used, as people often don't take them all the way to the tread limit because their off-road performance suffers as tread wears. Alternatively people sell them when they go bigger.