New Exhaust / Muffler Advice for 2005 TJ

MMon_TPA

Hi all,

Newbie here to the forums. I apologize if this has already been discussed, but wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions on a new exhaust, or muffler for the TJ. I am looking for something that is slightly louder than stock with as little drone as possible. Ive been hearing the Flow Master Super 44 is popular, but some of the YouTube videos seem like its extremely loud. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Thanks for the heads up. I heard the 60 series is better for a less aggressive sound/less drone. Looking into that one right now.

The super 44 is louder than you want and drones bad from inside the cab. The Thrush welded is better but still pretty loud and ratty, once it breaks in. I've tried lots of different mufflers and my Banks Monster exhaust sounded good, but my current Flowmaster Delta 40 is noticeably deeper than stock, but zero drone at any speed and not obnoxious is any way. Deeper tone, but nice enough that my brother used one on his TJ while riding his 3 year old around. He's picky about his kid.:)

The super 44 is louder than you want and drones bad from inside the cab. The Thrush welded is better but still fairly loud and ratty, once it breaks in. I've tried lots of different mufflers and my Banks Monster exhaust sounded good, but my current Flowmaster Delta 40 is noticeably deeper than stock, but zero drone at any speed and not obnoxious is any way.
Ok, so the 44 is out. Ill look into the Delta 40. Did you buy a full catback system, or buy the muffler, and have a local exhaust shop fabricate the piping? Also, does it matter what diameter is? Ive seen 2, 2.5, and 3 inch diameter mufflers.

Ok, so the 44 is out. Ill look into the Delta 40. Did you buy a full catback system, or buy the muffler, and have a local exhaust shop fabricate the piping? Also, does it matter what diameter is? Ive seen 2, 2.5, and 3 inch diameter mufflers.