P1391 code drama

mikejengineer

I've spent about 8 months (on and off) trying to get this 2000 TJ (86K miles) to run properly. I'm the original owner. I have read a lot of threads here about P1391 codes. Without going thru a litany of trials, please know that every sensor I can think of has been replaced with Mopar or best quality available parts. Sometimes twice. Camshaft position sensor (including geared sending unit -properly installed at TDC). Crankshaft sensor. Throttle position, Air flow, plugs, ignition rail bar, 02 sensor, replaced the throttle air valve and cleaned the throttle body (was dirty). I've been working on cars a long time - and recently did some work replacing the A/C compressor on the TJ with no issues. I'm not a professional mechanic.

The short(er) story
The TJ idles rough. Throws a P1391 code consistently. By rough, I mean she starts quickly, idles for about a minute and then starts an intermittent "grumph" that cycles perhaps every 20 seconds.

I can rotate the camshaft position sensor / send unit slightly to the point she idles smooth but will die immediately under load. When warm, I can rotate the same unit opposite direction (slightly) to where she runs properly but idles poorly, dies and throws P1391 code.

An I missing something regarding ignition timing / advance?

I have not checked fuel pressure but the fuel pump is not that old.

I'd appreciate any insight members might have on this issue. I do miss driving her.
Thanks

I just went through a camshaft position sensor P1391and fix on my 2004. In my research, I discovered that there are 2 different sensors. I think the same one was used from 1997-2004 and then a different one was used from 2005-2006) Since you had the OPDA ('geared sending unit') replaced, I wonder which sensor you have?