Questions about stock pinion angle

fuse

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Since I'm planning some upgrades, I figured I'd get some measurements of the stock setup including the driveshaft and pinion angles.

Here's what I measured for my stock 05 Sport with no changes to driveline or suspension:

Rear Drive Shaft Angles 2019-08-09.jpg

The first question is, do the numbers look like they're in the right range for a stock Jeep, or should I go back and measure things again? I tried to follow the best descriptions of how to measure these angles and measured twice, but it is my first time doing it.

The second question relates to the FSM, which provides three "rules" for drive shaft angles:
  • Good cancellation of u-joint operating angles (within 1*)
  • Operating angles less than 3*
  • At least 1/2 of one degree continuous operating (propeller shaft) angle
Things look good with the first and third rules. I've got 0.8* of u-joint cancellation, and more than 1/2* of operating angle at either end.

But my operating angles are 5.7* at the transfer case output and 4.9* at the axle input. My setup should be just what came from the factory, so what gives? Is the FSM "rule" on operating angles too conservative?

No idea what stock was or should be. But the angles are what they are. Even with adjustable arms, there is only so much one can do to get to that 3 degrees, especially after a lift.

Reactions: fuse
This post suggests that 7* is a conservative limit on the u-joint operating angle, 15* is a practical upper limit before there are real problems: https://wranglertjforum.com/threads/how-to-properly-set-your-pinion-angle.228/

I don't have any driveline vibrations and wouldn't expect to with a stock Jeep so 5* is clearly fine. I don't know how long those u-joints have been there, but they've definitely been there a while and they all check out OK.