Thoughts on buying this 2005 TJ Sport

yuma0711

Hi everyone, this is my second attempt at purchasing a TJ and would again appreciate y'alls advice! I plan on checking it out in person and doing a PPI before I buy, and I intend on paying with cash. It's a pretty far drive from me, so I'd like to be pretty confident in my decision before I make the journey. My plan is to try to negotiate for $8000. Please let me know if you notice any issues, if I'm overpaying (or if this is a steal and I need to grab it fast!), or if you have any other general advice as I seek to join the TJ community.

11DEC3.jpg

2005 JEEP WRANGLER X
Asking price: $9,500
170,000~ miles
4.0L 6cyl

Seller's description:
"2005 Wrangler with custom grill guard, aftermarket bumper, upgraded driveline for light towing. Clean title, one previous owner who had the Jeep in covered storage while deployed overseas.

I've taken great care of her. I'm a mechanic and any issue has been addressed immediately. Hasn't been much to fix though.

Update: brand new soft top installed, resealed top end of engine."

Pros:
-6 cyl engine
-few previous owners (CARFAX says 3 but owner says 2)
-in my preferred color :)
-little rust (I'm an absolute novice, so please let me know if I'm terribly wrong here)
-170k~ miles (seems pretty good for a 15 year old car?)
-current owner seems to care about maintenance (maybe I'm reading into it, but calling it a "her" seems like a good sign)

Cons:
-Dana 35... I think... (I don't plan on putting bigger wheels or doing *serious* off-roading so I'm not sure if it's worth holding out for the 44. I am curious how this should affect my negotiating, though)
-Minor accident reported
-She's spent some time in Wyoming, so probably driven through snow and salt?

CARFAX and other images attached!

wrangler_carfax.png

11DEC6.jpg

11DEC5.jpg

11DEC4.jpg

11DEC2.jpg

11DEC.jpg

130268396_1012109199314294_7987848176287742778_n.jpg

130480216_140776320897055_2844565060839785826_n.jpg