What all is involved in a 6” lift?

T.K.

I am new to the wrangler world (about a year) and I’ve come to my first real decision regarding my Jeep. When I bought my Jeep most of what I would have wanted done was already done but a few weeks ago I found a broken front spring and went to replace it knowing only what I could see and not having any real experience wrenching on the vehicle I bought a 5.5” spring set front and rear and put them on but now it sits about 2-3” higher. After some more research I’ve come to believe my shocks are about 3” lift and the springs were stock with spacers now my concern is that if I keep going upgrading to 5.5” lift shocks I will keep having to get something else because of the lift and another question is do I need a driveshaft or is it worth playing with fire for a year because I keep getting a random flashing Engine Light as I’m driving but doesn’t stay on long. Bottom line should I cut my losses and go to a 3” lift spring or keep risking it

6" is too much lift for a TJ, plain and simple.

The majority of TJs you'll see out there are running a 4" lift with a 1" body lift, so about 5" of lift total.

When you want to run 37s, you may think you need more lift, but the answer can be found without adding any additional lift and instead doing a highline conversion, as well as moving the rear fender flares up more in the body (which involves cutting). @toximus has some good info (and tons of pictures) on this in his thread.

I don't know what size tire you're planning to run, but get rid of that 6" lift and put a 4" suspension lift on there and 1" body lift if you're trying to clear 35s.

I can't see any reason one would want to run a 6" suspension lift unless you were trying to run some absurdly large tire or something such as 42s, but at that point you're going to be on really wide axles and your not even going to be dealing with fenders anymore at all.

6" is too much lift for a TJ, plain and simple.