What type of coolant should I add?

Maincos

I’m new to Jeeps and cars in general. Just bought a 2000 wrangler sport and i noticed yesterday it is pretty low on coolant. The problem is that I don’t know what type of coolant is in there currently. It’s green but from what I understand green can’t always mix with green. Or can it? I really would like to drain out what is in there and put the mopar stuff in there but if I do that will I have to flush everything completely or is draining it and refilling good enough?

Thanks for any help!

Reactions: qslim
You'll benefit from doing a flush even if just to establish a known track record of maintenance. You'd be fine with doing a distilled water only flush but if you have the time I'd recommend also doing a couple of chemical flushes to clean up your cooling system.

I've flushed with Prestone followed up by Thermocure with good results.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07L9JNHWM/?tag=wranglerorg-20

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00R74I5UY/?tag=wranglerorg-20

Having a funnel helps with aim and preventing overflow but isn't required:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00A6AS6LY/?tag=wranglerorg-20

You'll benefit from doing a flush even if just to establish a known track record of maintenance. You'd be fine with doing a distilled water only flush but if you have the time I'd recommend also doing a couple of chemical flushes to clean up your cooling system.

thank you, sir

X2.

Then fill it with zerex g05 coolant

That's what I use too. It meets Mopar spec so it's compatible with the fluids that are "supposed" to be in the Jeep so in the future there should be no question about what's compatible. Just keeps things easier imho.