Which Winch for TJ?

RedrumRH

WNC Asheville Area
Supporting Member
I need some direction about a winch, not a "wench" which I am sure the group also has much expertise. I have had my fair share of wenches, so I know all about that, and I am long past that part of my life:) So my goal is to keep my 00' TJ very stock, not doing a lift, not doing anything other than the 31x10.5x15 it now has, don't want to get new bumpers now, stock...stock...stock...and I think it is one of the best looking stock vehicles to begin with. I don't believe I am interested in rock crawling or extreme off roading, my off roading will be trail/logging roads, mud and snow gravel and dirt roads, the ability to go most anywhere a 4x4 can reasonably handle. I am a Realtor and I have to drive in all conditions, across 100 acre tracts that may only have a logging road, have to rescue vacation rental clients in the snow when they get stuck in the neighborhood (neighborhood has 65 miles of gravel roads), and my mom lives in the hood, so if I ever have to rescue her in a foot of snow and take her somewhere I need to get around in any weather. The VW Touareg has fit the bill for the last 5 years (still have the VW) but it is not going to be my primary "run around the mountain" anymore....the TJ is what I find myself driving any chance I get.

I want a winch for obvious reasons, but I am not going to be offering my services to pull people out because I have no experience and don't want to play expert. I won't be in a rock crawling caravan, or "mudding" so my winch use will be more of what I will call consumer use and not expert use I'll suggest most people call AAA if they are stuck unless it is a very easy and straight forward. But in the circumstances where I want to winch myself out in an emergency, or pull a car out of a ditch (like my wife) I want the ability to winch when needed.