Would it be best to install a front or rear locker?

Johnnyrtheplumber

I'm new to the whole Jeep world, so go easy, as I just don't know. I have a 97 TJ with the 2.5L and looking into doing a Eaton E-locker, im curious what would be best doing the front? Or rear? I'm in NW Oregon and don't plan on any crazy rock crawling, I use this Jeep as a daily diver, hunting, camping, and trails.

20201018_093702.jpg

I had a 2.5 in my '97, before doing an LS swap. I changed the gears to 4.88 and put a Detroit Truetrac in the rear and Aussie in the front. The Aussie is a beast and inexpensive. The Truetrac was awesome and cheaper than an e-locker - I could go anywhere! The 4.88s made it feel like I had a 5th cylinder!

Reactions: HYRYSC
If I had to choose between a front or rear locker, I'd choose the rear. I use the rear twice as much as the front locker when off road.
As pointed out by @TheBoogieman, locking a Dana 35 without addressing some of the other components can be problematic.

If I had to choose between a front or rear locker, I'd choose the rear. I use the rear twice as much as the front locker when off road.
Just because you used it more; how do you know using the rear made the obstacle easier than if you had used just the front?

I would do a rear as well, but not with a dana 35 unless I was doing other mods to it. Rear is always the first locker I click on.

Reactions: SvtLdr
Just because you used it more; how do you know using the rear made the obstacle easier than if you had used just the front?
The rear locker increases traction without limiting mobility (as much). You get the "good" without the "bad" so to speak. I also use just the rear locker on slick/ muddy descents as it keeps the back end tracking with the front. Using a front locker in those situations could be bad news.